HQ RIO announces top individual reservists of 2017

  • Published
  • By Senior Master Sgt. Timm Huffman
  • Headquarters Individual Reservist Readiness and Integration Organization

The Headquarters Individual Reservist Readiness and Integration Organization announced the 2017 Individual Reservists of the Year.

The award program recognizes the accomplishments of the outstanding Airmen who augment Active Component and government agencies world-wide.

“The IR of the Year awards recognize our best reservists for going above and beyond in their support of the Department of Defense," said Col. Kelli B. Smiley, the HQ RIO commander. "The members we selected this year are truly exemplary and I could not be more proud of the work they've done representing the IR program!"

Individual Reservists of the Year 

  • Non-commissioned Officer of the Year: Staff Sgt. Michael Gaerman, Military Justice Paralegal, 66th Air Base Group Judge Advocate, Hanscom Air Force Base, Massachusetts 

  • Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Jessica M. Pierce, Law Office Superintendent, 355th Fighter Wing Judge Advocate, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Arizona  

  • Company Grade Office of the Year: Capt. Bryan R. Scism, Chief Airfield Pavement Evaluation, Air Force Civil Engineer Center, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas 

  • Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Brett A. Riley, Chief Spacelift Rocket Program Acquisition Team, Launch Enterprise Directorate, Air Force Space Command Space and Missile Systems Center, Los Angeles Air Force Base, California  

Individual Reservists are Air Force Reservists assigned to active-component units and government agencies. IRs are managed by Headquarters Individual Reservist Readiness and Integration Organization, located at Buckley Air Force Base, Colorado, and serve more than 50 separate major commands, combatant commands and government agencies.